Venues and resources

Venues for long form non-fiction

Please help this be a great resource for writers – comment with additions or email them to hello at futureoflongform dot com.

Traditional print and online

Check out newspages.com’s list of Literary Magazines http://www.newpages.com/literary-magazines/ it includes a huge list of possible venues as well as submission details / guidelines.

 

Australia

A lot of these journals have websites too, but so far most are not publishing long form online.

Meanjin http://www.meanjin.com.au

Overland http://www.overland.org.au

Island Magazine http://islandmag.com

Griffith Review http://griffithreview.com/

Kill Your Darlings Journal http://www.killyourdarlingsjournal.com

The Lifted Brow http://www.theliftedbrow.com

Tincture Journal http://tincture-journal.com

 

You can also publish your work with publishing houses:

Random House has an e-book collection, Storycuts. Submit your work to Publisher Meredith Curnow via Random House’s Sydney office. You can read more about Storycuts in this post.

Penguin has an e-book collection, Penguin Specials. Submit your work via the email address penguin.specials@au.penguingroup.com . You can read more about Penguin Specials in this post.

UK

Granta Magazine – they have a ‘New Voices’ section just for emerging writers – up to 4,000 words http://www.granta.com/

 

USA

Creative Non-fiction http://www.creativenonfiction.org

LA Review of Books http://lareviewofbooks.org/

Hippocampus accepts up to 3,500 words http://www.hippocampusmagazine.com

McSweeny’s Quarterly http://www.mcsweeneys.net/

Etude http://etude.uoregon.edu/

 

E-book publishers (but not self-publishing)

Editia is a digital first publishing business devoted to longform journalism and non-fiction shorts. http://www.editia.com

The Atavist is independently run, but publishing words and multimedia as a kind of imprint of Kindle Singles (as well as several other platforms) http://www.atavist.com/

Byliner is also independently run and publishing into the Kindle Singles programme (as well as several other platforms) http://byliner.com/

Random House has an e-book collection, Storycuts. Submit your work to Publisher Meredith Curnow via Random House’s Sydney office. You can read more about Storycuts in this post.

Matter publishes science-focussed long form.

The Big Round Table also publishes long form.

 

Self publishing

‘So you want to publish a Kindle Single’ video http://www.thestoryboard.ca/so-you-want-to-publish-a-kindle-single/

Smashwords guide to marketing your ebook http://www.smashwords.com/extreader/read/305/1/smashwords-book-marketing-guide

There are dozens of e-book publishing opportunities out there, but I haven’t had any experience with them. Let us know what you know in the comments below.

 

Enterprise journalism / Community funded reporting / Crowd sourcing

http://www.spot.us – US based community funded reporting. As of July 2013 activity on this site appears slow.

http://www.youcommnews.com – Australian foray into community funded reporting As of July 2013 this site was down.

http://www.pozible.com – Crowd funding

www.kickstarter.com – Crowd funding (US based)

www.indiegogo.com – Crowd funding (US based)

Also check out www.crowdfunding.org to help get your head around it (including this video about crowd sourcing).

I have written a number of posts on crowd funding.

Resources

Promote your work

Long Reads http://www.longreads.com

Long Form http://www.longform.org

 

Explore the future of publishing

IF book – http://www.ifbook.com.au

Meanland – http://www.meanland.com.au

Digital Publishing Australia http://www.digitalpublishingaustralia.org.au [Focuses on publishers rather than writers, but could give you some inspiration]

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.